Chapter History

Chapter History

Founded: May 29, 1931

Charter Members: Mary Desobry, Georgia Patterson, Florence Landry, Willie Mae Post, Anna O'Shaughnessy, Tommy Hyatt, Marguerite Landry, Edmay Prosser, Lillian Gaithe, Constance Desobry, Hilda Daybi, Mary Miller, Yvonne Whitefield, Bessie Healey, Dolores Sandoz, D'Ella Veazey and Muriel McCulla.

First Officer Board Pictured Below (names from top left to right): Lillian Gaithe, Historian; Anna O'Shaughnessy, Treasurer; Florence Landry, Recording Secretary; Georgia Patternson, Vice President; Mary Katherine Desobry, President; and Willie Mae Post, Corresponding Secretary.

In the spring, the most beautiful season of the year in semitropical Louisiana, Alpha Mu came to be. A decision by Miss Agnes Edwards, Dean of Women, that a chapter with national affiliation would be an asset to sorority life on the campus, prompted this historic event. Mabel West Leonard Kappa was the Installing Office. Tradition and spirit stirred Alpha Mu to great undertakings. The guiding force behind their early success was their beloved sponsor and charter member Muriel McCulla Price, whose devotion and expert counsel inspired the members. Alumnae Vice President Margaret Parker Munder Alpha Tau represented Tri Sigma at the chapter's 50th Founders Day celebration and presented the Sorority's gift of 50 silver dollars. The 32nd National Convention was held on this campus in 1980. In 2006 the chapter celebrated its 75th anniversary and a gift was presented from the National Organization.

Lafayette opened its doors in 1901 as Southwestern Louisiana Industrial Institute. It achieved college status in 1921 and "Industrial" was dropped from its name. A significant doctoral program and research agenda brought university status in 1960 as University of Southwestern Louisiana. It was merged with the University of Louisiana System in 1999.